Area Attractions

Visit These Great Area Attractions.


Bily Clocks Museum & Dvorak Residence

323 S. Main Street
Spillville, IA 52168
Phone: (563) 562-3569
Fax:
Website: www.bilyclocks.org
Fax:
Email:

Bily Clocks Museum & Dvorak Residence

A collection of carved clocks created by the Bily Brothers, Frank & Joseph. Also housed is a exhibit in memory of the famous Czech Composer Antonin Dvorak. A small admission fee is charged. Tours are given regularly.


Calmar Train Depot

N. Maryville
Calmar, IA 52132
Phone:
Fax:
Website:
Fax:
Email: Michele Elsbernd

Calmar Train Depot

In the early railroad years, Calmar had 22 tracks of communication. Allpassengers got off in Calmar, to visit or stay in the area.

Thisdepot was partially restored in 1989 and the canopy restored in 1998.It is currently a tourist information center and is the beginning ofthe Prairie Farmer Bike Trail which was established in 1989 on an oldrailroad bed.


Effigy Mounds National Monument

151 Hwy 76
Harpers Ferry, IA 52146
Phone: 563-873-3491
Fax:
Website: www.nps.gov/archive/efmo/home.htm
Fax:
Email:

Effigy Mounds National Monument

Effigy Mounds National Monument is located 3 miles north of Marquette,Iowa off highway 76. Established by presidential proclamation in 1949,the Indian mound building culture that regularly constructed mounds inthe shape of mammals, birds, or reptiles. The monument contains 2,526acres with 195 mounds of which 31 are effigies.

The visitorcenter, located at the park entrance, contains museum exhibits, anauditorium and book sales outlet. There are no lodging or campingfacilities in the park. Visitors may look at the mounds, spectacularviews from bluffs along the Mississippi River and more than 100 acresof prairie by walking along 11 miles of hiking trails. No roads existin the park. Three mounds are accessible to disabled visitors in theimmediate vicinity of the visitor center.


Fort Atkinson State Preserve


Fort Atkinson, IA
Phone:
Fax:
Website: www.iowadnr.com/parks/state_park_list/fort_atkinson.html
Fax:
Email:

Fort Atkinson State Preserve

Was built to keep the Winnebago Indians on Neutral ground after their removal from Wisconsin in 1840 and to provide protection for them from the Sioux, Sauk, Fox and from white intruders on Indian land. The annual Fort Atkinson Rendezvous Days happens the last full weekend in September. It is FREE to the public and gives visitors the opportunity to witness what frontier life in the 1940's might have been like.



Lake Meyer

2546 Lake Meyer Road
Fort Atkinson, IA
Phone: 563-534-7145
Fax: 563-534-7144
Website: www.winneshiekwild.com
Fax: 563-534-7144
Email: d4os@acegroup.cc

Lake Meyer

This 156 acre park is the County Conservation Board's headquarters.Lake Meyer offers tent & trailer camping, drinking water andshowers, toilets, skiing, hiking trails, picnicking areas, lake fishingin a 38 acre lake, boat ramp and a nature center.

The Park is located one mile west off Highway 24 between Calmar and Fort Atkinson.


Laura Ingalls Wilder Park & Museum

3603 - 236th Avenue
Burr Oak, IA 52101
Phone: 563-735-5916
Fax:
Website: www.lauraingallswilder.us
Fax:
Email:

Laura Ingalls Wilder Park & Museum

This nationally recognized landmark is the only childhood homeremaining on its original site. Her little house books have thrilledchildren and adults alike with tales of pioneer life since 1932. The"missing link" in her series of books was the year she spent in BurrOak and comes between her stories of "On the Banks of Plum Creek" and"By the Shores of Silver Lake".


Little Brown Church in the Vale

2730 Cheyenne Avenue
Nashua, IA 50658
Phone: 641-435-2027
Fax:
Website: www.littlebrownchurch.org
Fax:
Email:

Little Brown Church in the Vale

Over 40,000 visitors come to the Little Brown Church each year, andover 400 weddings are performed annually. In June of 2005, the 72,000wedding was held at the church. The congregation is alive and well withan active Sunday School, youth groups, choirs, ladies’ fellowship,Bible study, a prayer chain group, and weekly services at 10:30 onSunday. They remain, as they were founded, a Congregational Church. Thesong continues to be sung in a little church that is painted brown andsits in the wildwood.


Locust School


Locust, IA
Phone:
Fax:
Website:
Fax:
Email:

Locust School

Locust school was in continuous operation for one hundred and sixyears. Reportedly this is an Iowa record for a school building on itsoriginal site.

The school was built in 1854, six years after theWinnebago Indians ceased occupation of the neutral ground. The villageof Locust had been surveyed and settled two or three years earlier.

Toensure that future generations of students would not forget the days ofone-room schools, the Locust School Society was founded in 1965 topreserve this unique school. It's limestone structure is listed on theNational Register of Historic Places in 1978, the Winneshiek CountyHistorical Society presently owns and operates Locust School. OpenMemorial Day through Labor Day Saturday & Sunday afternoons. On W38at A26.


Montauk

P.O. Box 372
Clermont, IA 52135
Phone: (563) 423-7173
Fax:
Website: www.iowahistory.org/historic-sites/montauk/index.html
Fax:
Email: Nadine West

Montauk

Journeyinto the past at the home of Iowa's 12th governor, William Larrabee andAnna Larrabee, his wife. Enjoy a guided tour to see and hear how theLarrabee family furnished and maintained this 1874 vintage brick andnatural limestone mansion for more than 100 years. All of thefurnishings are original to the house. the State Historical Society ofIowa owns and preserves Montauk which is listed on the NationalRegister of Historic Places. It is designated as a State Preserve.

Open noon to 4 .m. daily, Memorial Day weekend to October 31. Open other times by special arrangement for group tours.


Niagara Cave

29842 CO 30, P.O. Box 444
Harmony, MN 55939
Phone: 800-837-6606
Fax:
Website: www.niagaracave.com
Fax:
Email:

Niagara Cave

Niagara Cave is one of the most fascinating and unique geologicalattractions in the United States. During the one-hour guided tour,visitors will witness a waterfall, nearly 60 feet high, stalactitesboth delicate and massive, calcite flowstone, fossils that have beendated to over 400 million years old, and a wedding chapel in which over400 weddings have been performed, plus much more.

Niagara caveis a constant 48 degrees year around, so a light jacket or sweatshirtis suggested. Walking shoes are recommended. Also, because there areseveral sets of stairs on the cave tour wheelchairs and strollers cannot be used on the tour. However, the gift shop is wheelchairaccessible.


Porter House Museum

401 W. Broadway St.
Decorah, IA 52101
Phone:
Fax:
Website: www.porterhousemuseum.com
Fax:
Email:

Porter House Museum

This Victorian Home built in 1867 is a reminder of the golden age inDecorah history. It is a memorial to lifetime resident Adelbert FieldPorter, nationally known collector and naturalist. Open Memorial Day toLabor Day, Saturday and Sunday or by appointment. Admission is charged.


Prairie Farmer Recreational Trail


,
Phone:
Fax:
Website:
Fax:
Email:

Prairie Farmer Recreational Trail

The Prairie Farmer Recreational Trail -- not just a great way to getfrom here to there. A great for walking, roller-blading, cross-countryskiing, snowmobiling, people watching, bird watching, observingwildlife, enjoying nature and many other great ideas just waiting to bediscovered. Bicyclists, joggers, hikers, and cross-country skiers areall invited to use the trail. Snowmobiles are allowed on a restrictedbasis between Ridgeway to near Cresco only. The small part of NortheastIowa that you'll see while on the trail will say it all. We have freshair, clean water, and open spaces. Discover Iowa. Discover the PrairieFarmer Recreational Trail.


Seed Savers Exchange & Heritage Farms

3094 North Winn Road
Decorah, IA 52101
Phone: 563-382-5990
Fax:
Website: www.seedsavers.org
Fax:
Email:

Seed Savers Exchange & Heritage Farms

Located 5 1/2 miles North of Decorah, is the home to 15,000 rarevegetable varieties as well as 2,000 varieties of seeds from EasternEurope and Russia. Tours are available. Open to Visitors 9-5 daily.


Siewer Springs State Trout Rearing Station

2321 Siewer Spring Road
Decorah, IA 52101
Phone: 563-382-8324
Fax:
Website:
Fax:
Email:

Siewer Springs State Trout Rearing Station

See trout of all sizes in tanks as they are reared before release intostreams. Fish food and trout stocking information is available. OpenDaily. Free of Charge

The Decorah Fish Hatchery is located twomiles south of Decorah in Winneshiek County. The area is extremelypopular among visitors to this scenic region of Iowa. The picturesquelimestone office and residence date back to the 1930s as a project ofthe Civilian Conservation Corps.


Spook Cave

13299 Spook Cave Road
McGregor, IA 52157
Phone: 563-873-2144
Fax:
Website: www.spookcave.com
Fax:
Email:

Spook Cave

Early settlers of Clayton County often referred to the strange noisescoming from a hole at the base of the hill along Bloody Run Creek, butit took Gerald Mielke to make the discovery of nature's handiwork.These beauties are now available to the public. Guided boat tours tellabout the discovery and development of the cave. Formations are alsopointed out and described. No walking involved; underground, out of theweather - always 47°F.


St. Anthony of Padua Chapel


Festina, IA
Phone: 563-382-4022
Fax:
Website:
Fax:
Email:

St. Anthony of Padua Chapel

Located a few miles west of Festina, IA off of Hwy 150, the St. Anthonyof Padua Chapel or the "World's Smallest Church" seats 8 people, has a12 x 16 foot interior, normal sized doorway and pews, and 30-ft.+steeple. Built in 1886 to honor a mother's vow to build a chapel if herson returned safely from the Napoleonic War. Privately owned: openduring daylight hours. Free. Watch for signs off IA 150 and IA 24


Trout Run Trail


Decorah, IA 52101
Phone:
Fax:
Website: www.troutruntrail.com
Fax:
Email:

Trout Run Trail

The 11 mile paved trail looping around the City of Decorah is an
inviting outdoor experience for bikers, walkers and runners
of all ages.


Vesterheim Norwegian-American Museum

523 W. Water St.
Decorah, IA 52101
Phone: 563-382-9681
Fax:
Website: www.vesterheim.org
Fax:
Email:

Vesterheim Norwegian-American Museum

Located in Decorah, 10 miles North of Calmar, this museum depictscarved furnishings, vibrant decorative arts, and traditional costumesof old Norway.


Winneshiek Wildberry Winery

1966 337th. St.
Decorah, IA 52101
Phone: 1-888-735-0544
Fax:
Website: www.wwwinery.com
Fax:
Email: sales@wwwinery.com

Winneshiek Wildberry Winery

Experience Winneshiek Wildberry Winery's country wines featuring fiveunique varieties. Tour the vineyard and winery and visit the 1,300square foot artisan shop. Spend time on the spacious outdoor patio orindoor rose garden. You'll also find wine accessories,walking trails,and over 30 varieties of flowers nestled alond the winery'slandscaping. This 140-year family farm is the perfect setting to relaxand enjoy a taste of the country.